The Local Executive is elected every three years. Nomination meetings are held in March and the elections are held in April. Positions are open to any member of Local 1998 who has been in continuous good standing for twenty-four months preceding the election. In a contested election, members must have attended at least on third of the regular meetings held by the Local in the twenty-four month period before the election.

As an amalgamated Local, members of the Casual, Vic, St. Mike’s and U of T Schools Units elect their own officers (Unit President, Unit Secretary and Unit Grievor). The Presidents of each of these units serve on the Local Executive and the Unit Grievors serve on the Grievance Committee. Nominations and elections for Unit positions are also conducted every three year at Unit meetings.

The Grievance Committee is made up of Chief Stewards from the U of T staff-appointed unit and Unit Grievors from each Unit. These positions are also elected every three years.

Please see the Constitution and By-laws for more information on elections and the duties of elected officers.

About USW 1998 - Executive

Local 1998 Executive

Local 1998 Unit Presidents

  • John Ankenman
    John Ankenman Victoria University

    (416) 506-9090 x. 227

  • Steven Koschuk
    Steven Koschuk St. Michael's College
  • Martin Aiello
    Martin Aiello UTS University Toronto Schools

    (416) 946‐0351

  • Nick Marchese
    Nick Marchese Casual Unit

    (416) 506-9090

Grievance Committee List

University of Toronto
Chief Stewards

Arts & Science – Jessica Finlayson
Faculty of Medicine – Carolina Rios Lezama
Central Administration – Lailooma Wardak
U of T Libraries – David Eden
English Language Program – Bill Mboutsiados
Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering – Jian Shen
Dentistry – Jennifer Lanteigne
OISE/UT – Anil Purandare
University of Toronto Scarborough – Betty Walters
University Operations – Shiden Haile
Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education – Ramesh Gopenathan
Rotman Professional Faculties – Valeria Sladojevic-Sola
University of Toronto at Mississauga – Windsor Chan

Start typing and press Enter to search